Next Concert

Saturday 12th May 2018, 7:30pm
Romsey Abbey

Conductor: John Traill
Violin: Michael Foyle
Cello: Thomas Carroll

Richard Strauss – Festmarsch
Brahms – Double Concerto for Violin and Cello
Mahler – Symphony no. 1

Buy tickets online

The City of Southampton Orchestra are delighted to return to the beautiful and ancient Romsey Abbey for a concert of dramatic Romantic music.

Richard Strauss's Festmarsch is an attention-grabbing opener, with its brass fanfares and rich orchestral sounds. An early work, it shows the promise of Strauss the master composer and orchestrator.

Next, the orchestra are delighted to be joined by distinguished soloists Michael Foyle and Thomas Carroll to perform Brahms's Double Concerto for Violin and Cello. Michael gave a thrilling performance of Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto with the orchestra last year, and with Thomas alongside him a memorable performance of the Brahms is guaranteed. The concerto was Brahms's final work, and shows his mastery of the concerto form. A rather turbulent opening Allegro is followed by a beautiful Andante second movement. The finale, a lively Vivace is Brahms at his most witty.

In the second half, the orchestra will perform Mahler's Symphony no. 1. Scored for a huge orchestra including a large brass section, the symphony is so accomplished it is hard to believe it was Mahler's first. So ambitious is the scope of Mahler's writing that this symphony undoubtedly changed the genre for ever. Full of ideas, tunes, and changes of character, it has to be heard to be believed. This is the orchestra's first performance of it for twelve years and we cannot wait to bring this life-changing music to Romsey.


Adults: £10 - £18
Students and concessions: £10 - £15
Under 18: £1

Buy tickets online.


Romsey Abbey
SO51 8EN

View on Google Maps

Romsey is well connected with the rest of England by road, rail and air. Southampton is seven miles away.

There are three public pay-and-display car parks in Romsey suitable for leisure visitors.